Random Rants

by riddhika

I’m writing down my thoughts today. Raw emotions. My emotions that have perhaps accumulated over the last couple of weeks and months into a little bundle and now need to be let lose somewhere. My somewhere is always my blog. When events unfold in your life, you often question your identity, your purpose and the reason why you were chosen to be placed into a certain situation at that junction or point in time.

I have often been asked what it means to be Master Practitioner Priya Khanna’s daughter. What does it feel like to have a lady who has helped countless number of people attain what they most desired, be your boss, then a friend and most importantly being her daughter and her being my mother. She has not one but many feathers in her hat. Not only has she helped countless number of people with the use of all the alternative therapies that she has studied but her practice of a science as powerful as Fengshui Shui has opened the paths to higher prosperity and success for many. How blessed she is to live a life helping people. When clients drop by the store and say your mother is a genius, I just smile. Because to me she is just my mother. She is a genius regardless of what she does and does not do. So I wonder what is this extra special stuff she does with clients who think she is a genius!

I am almost always caught tongue tied when this question is thrown at me. .. ‘Tell us about Fengshui. Does it work?’ ‘ Is your home Fengshuied?’. Yes that has now become a word in the vocabulary I often hear… ‘Fengshuied’. To which my expressions and my face are as confused if not more confused than the previous time I was asked the same question. Yes my home is ‘fengshuied’. Yes I am the daughter of a healer and yes it’s wonderful, However in all honestly I just don’t know what I’ve taken back from all of this.

Do I believe in any of it? Some of it? Or does none of it have any value in my life.Im not a fan of being asked at parties and social gatherings about energy work or healings or alternative sciences. Not because I am not proud of the sort of work we do, but simply because I am not too sure of what all of this has done for me or how it has helped me progress and move on in my own life. Not until now at least.

Perhaps you need to have your own individual experience to gain perspective on a particular topic. You question everything in your life till you don’t attain answers. Whether these answers come to you in the form of signs from the universe or are thrown at your blatantly all vary from time to time and situation to situation. However, I have recently found myself following one of moms most tried and tested techniques at a time when my otherwise happy life suddenly went on a roller coaster of emotions at its own free will. Leaving me feeling quite helpless really.

She calls this the Rice Paper diary Therapy.

I sat down to write down all my emotions and feelings towards particular people who perhaps cause feelings of stress, or various situations that I feel are completely out of my control. I wrote down everything they or the situation made me feel. Both good and bad emotions about the individual, the situation and the what, why, and how’s that usually answer why the mind is restless. I poured down every single thought that came to my mind about all these individuals and situations that were causing the havoc in my being. After I’d done this, I simply burnt the piece of paper on which I’d poured my heart and soul out.

Funny enough, I’ve always been told that once this paper is burnt you will not remember anything you felt. It will almost feel like the emotion didn’t exist. Imagine how much stress, anxiety, fear and garbage you manage to get out of your system. I write anyway but for myself and for others to read. Making it censored material. But imagine being able to write everything and anything you actually felt and then to simply release those feelings, because you didn’t have to share this with anyone! It’s hard to describe the feeling but I can undoubtedly say that this is one of the nicest therapies I think I could have learnt from mom.

I am sharing something that helps me every time I feel low and out. I have been doing this for years now but have never thought it was important enough to be shared. Not till I recently realized that sometimes you don’t need someone to talk to, but simply a coping mechanism that will help you let go and heal.

I know most of you will find this exercise so tiring and so tedious. It honestly is the most boring, tiring and tedious exercise that exists. Specially because it entails coming to terms with your own realities and situations as they exist. But we all know that no form of exercise ever yields any result till we don’t put in some effort into it.

At Elements Fengshui, the company my mother started we encourage our clients to try and do this writing on special hand made paper diaries, however I just recommend that every time you feel down and out, you try and do this exercise on any paper!!! You could be on a flight, waiting in a queue for something, or sitting in the car! Doesn’t matter where you are, all you need is a pen and paper! You will feel so much better and so much lighter after you do this. Almost like the issue didn’t exist at all. I have written about so many things over the last few months and I do see a change in myself. I feel the difference in my reactions to situations, and this is when I realize that this is what it feels like to be Priya’s daughter. To be able to tackle situations hands on from a holistic perspective without harboring feelings of hate, regret, anger and dislike. Throughout our lives, we were taught that we must not fight how we feel. We need to accept how we feel. And if our feeling isn’t a good feeling or our thoughts are bad, go find the root cause of the issue, don’t just brush it off and hide from the situation. Healing comes with acceptance. Acceptance of the situation as it is. Allowing yourself to heal is the best gift you can give yourself.

I do hope you will find it in yourself to allow this healing to enter your existence too. You deserve it. You deserve infinite happiness and invite love, don’t allow yourself to accept any lesser!

If you decide to give this therapy a shot, please tell me how it went of for you! I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Until next time,

Love and gratitude

Riddhika